• About

  • The law society was established in 1967 through an act of Parliament. That act was repealed and replaced by a new Act in 1983. The Legal Practitioners Act and the Law Society Act, and Rules of 1983, are the laws regulating the practice of lawyers. The Law Society is governed by a Council consisting of 5 legal practitioners elected by members of the Society. The Society has its offices at the Palace of Justice and has only one full time employee who performs secretarial and other minimal jobs.

    The work of the society is done on a voluntary basis by its members, it has been necessary for the society to get external services and pay for such services. The society is desirous of improving its services, providing demand driven services to its members and its other stakeholders, improving subscription payment and collection and empowering and training its members so they get to and remain on the cutting edge of the profession.

  • The Society's Council

  • President

    Tekane Maqakachane


  • Vice President

    Lehlohonolo Matee


  • Secretary General

    Nthati Pheko


  • Treasurer

    Vincent Moshoeshoe Mokaloba


  • Member

    Rethabile Setlojoane